favorite websites, free websites, tips

New United States Marriages Collection

MAFFIT, Seth & Esther Brouillette, 1858 Marriage Register - zoom
Clinton County, Iowa, Marriages, 1840-1933; index 1880-1930: volume 1, page 78, Seth Moffitt and Ester Brouillette marriage entry; GS microfilm 1005210 (accessed 12 February 2016 by Amberly Beck).

During Roots Tech there was a lot of buzz about FindMyPast’s new United States Marriages Collection.  This collection currently contains 33 million records and will continue to grow.

When I got home I decided to peruse this new collection.  You see, there is this elusive marriage record that my sister and I have been trying to find for years – 8? 10?  The problem was we didn’t know where to look.

Well, guess what?

It had an index to that elusive marriage record.  Seth Moffitt and Ester Brouillette.  My third great grandparents.

Hot dog!  It had a GS microfilm number and that film was already at BYU.  So a few days later I went to the Family History Library at BYU and gave that microfilm a look.  That pretty image up there is what I found.

I now know that they were married in Clinton, Iowa on 27 November 1858.  I know who married them.  I know when they got their marriage license.

Hopefully I can use those details to track down some more information.

Have you tried the new US Marriages Collection on FindMyPast?  Give it a try for free through Valentines Day.

3 thoughts on “New United States Marriages Collection”

Leave a Reply